Q: How do you do? Thank you for answering my questions on skinny-fat.

I need your advice again. I have been following the 10-8-6-15 routine you suggest for ectomorphs for 1 month. I workout 2 to 3 times a week, only do one exercise per body part and gradually increase the weight for each set except for the last set.

I notice improvements on my strength but not so much on my physique. How is this so? Is there anything I can do to improve on it, or does this simply mean it’s time for me to switch to other routines?

Thank you. Have a nice day.

– J. Yang

 

My Answer: If you’re getting stronger, but there isn’t any change in your physique, then it’s usually diet that is holding you back. You have to eat more, and you have got to eat more meat and whole eggs. If you start to get the skinny-fat look again, then eat more veggies and eliminate those starchy carbs. If you drink a lot of alcohol, that is also making fat in all the wrong places, so cut the booze.

Regardless of diet, you should change your training. I often recommend 5×5 after the 10-8-6-15 routine, but you may need to add some back off sets to facilitate growth. Try alternating between these 2 workouts throughout the week:

Workout #1

Dumbbell press 5×5
Machine flyes 3×12

Seated cable rows 5×5
Pulldowns 3×12

Wide grip upright rows 5×5
Seated lateral raises 3×12

Workout #2

Squats 5×5
Leg Extensions 3×12

/ Seated dumbbell curls 5×5
\ Lying triceps extensions 5×5

/ Incline curls 3×12
\ Pressdowns 3×12

