Q: “I’m trying to lean down by eating less and running more. As for the strength training, should I stick with the hypertrophy program or the 8×8 program you briefly mention? The hypertrophy program has really improved my strength, but I haven’t really noticed any changes in my physique because I carry around too much body fat. Thanks.”

Best,
Mike

 

My Answer: I think you answered your own question there, Mike. I don’t know which hypertrophy program you’re referring to, since I have many hypertrophy programs. Nevertheless, if you can’t see any progress in muscularity, because you have a layer of fat covering it up, then your path is clear: do the 8×8.


Q: Hi, I’m an experienced weight trainer.

Can you recommend the correct volume book that I should get? I read some things on your blog about cutting up with fast paced workouts, using weight training as aerobic exercise.

Can you tell me what book would be best for that? And also where I may be able to get it as an ebook?

Thanks,
Steve G.

 

My Answer: Strength and Physique, Volume One has a chapter on 7 different ways to use strength training as means to fat loss. You can get the Ebook at Lulu.com.


Q: It’s weird, but I have lost 10 lbs, and people say I look bigger. I have abs now and no love handles. Is it normal to look bigger and yet weigh less?

 

My Answer: Yes, this is perfectly normal.  Nobody gives a rat’s ass as to how much you weigh.  You don’t walk with a number on your forehead.  They’re only impressed by how you look.

If you’re fat, then your fat is going to be inside and around your muscles.  Fat gives you size, but it doesn’t give you the shape of muscularity.  Fat hides your muscles.  If you burn all the fat inside and around your muscles, then they will have shape.  The striations of your muscles will be clearly defined, and that definition makes you look bigger and more muscular.

Quality muscle, muscle that is hard and lean, is far more impressive than fat smooth muscle.

