Adjust the Weight, Stay on Target

Q: I came across your post while looking for training programs for law enforcement.   Your program looks interesting and I would like to try it, but I am just ignorant when it comes to weight training, to be quite honest.   I just don’t understand how I need to go about choosing which weight to use, how to increase weight, etc.   Maybe I am over thinking it, but I have struggle with it for a while. 

I am in decent shape.  I am 6’1″, at approximately 165 lbs, so there is much room for improvement.  I’m already working on the diet aspect, but I desperately need help with the training.   If you could provide any assistance, I would be grateful.

Thank you,

Josh F.

My Answer: If you’re brand new to weight training, then I wouldn’t suggest you do the Strength Training for LE program right away, since it’s physically demanding.  I’d start with the Hypertrophy Training for the Ectomorph program first.

Choosing what weight to use is really simple: start with a weight that allows you to perform the required number of reps.  So if the program says “10-12 reps,” then you choose a weight where you fail at 10-12 reps.  If the weight you chose causes you to fail short of 10-12 reps or past 10-12 reps, then adjust the weight accordingly for the next set.  Adjust the weight to stay within the target rep range.

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑